MEDLINE® is the National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) journal citation database. Started in the 1960s, it now provides more than 24 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles back to 1946. MEDLINE includes citations from more than 5,600 scholarly journals published around the world. Publishers submit journals to an NIH-chartered advisory committee, the Literature Selection Technical Review Committee (LSTRC), which reviews and recommends journals for MEDLINE. The LSTRC considers the quality of the scientific content of a journal, including originality and the importance of the content for the MEDLINE global audience, using the guidelines found on the NLM Fact Sheet MEDLINE Journal Selection. The MEDLINE database is directly searchable from NLM as a subset of the PubMed® database as well as through other numerous search services that obtain the data from NLM’s Data Distribution program. In addition to the comprehensive journal selection process, what sets MEDLINE apart from the rest of PubMed is the added value of using the NLM controlled vocabulary, Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®), to index citations.
PubMed has been available since 1996. Its more than 27 million references include the MEDLINE database plus the following types of citations:
PubMed citations often include links to the full-text article on the publishers' Web sites and/or in PMC and the Bookshelf. MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed. You may limit your PubMed search retrieval to MEDLINE citations by restricting your search to the MeSH controlled vocabulary or by using the Journal Categories filter called MEDLINE.
PMC (PubMed Central) launched in 2000 as a free archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles. PMC serves as a digital counterpart to the NLM extensive print journal collection; it is a repository for journal literature deposited by participating publishers, as well as for author manuscripts that have been submitted in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy and similar policies of other research funding agencies. Some PMC journals are also MEDLINE journals. For publishers, there are a number of ways to participate and deposit their content in this archive, explained on the NLM Web pages Add a Journal to PMC and PMC Policies. Journals must be in scope according to the NLM Collection Development Manual. Although free access is a requirement for PMC deposit, publishers and individual authors may continue to hold