Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

International Students: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

A guide to information resources and community resources for International Students at Xavier University.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Global Reference Center

This database contains comprehensive online content in a variety of global languages: Britannica Enciclopedia Moderna (Spanish), Britannica Escolar Online (Spanish), Britannica Online Japan, Britannica Online Korea, Britannica Consice Encyclopedia (in Simplified Chinese), Encyclopaedia Universalis (in French). It is produced by and the user interface is provided by Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.  All full-text. Subjects: Biographies, Chinese, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Images, JapaneseKorea, Maps.

Longman handy learner's dictionary of American English. Harlow: Longman, 2002. 2nd Floor McDonald PE1628.L6 2002

English language dictionary.  This popular, pocket-size dictionary is an ideal quick and easy reference to American words and phrases.

Merriam Webster Online

This database contains definitions of words, a pronunciation guide, synonyms, etymology, and a thesaurus. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by Merriam Webster, Inc.  All full-text.  Subjects: BiographiesDictionariesImages (databases with images)K-12 Databases.

Oxford Reference Online

This database is a cross-searchable database of more than 125 quick reference dictionaries and 189 in-depth encyclopedias. It covers general reference as well as specific subject categories: archaeology, art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, classical studies, encyclopedias, English dictionaries and thesauri, history, language reference, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine and health, music, names studies, performing arts, philosophy, quotations, religion, science and technology, social sciences, and society and culture. All subject categories can be searched separately. Reference types include overview pages, subject reference, timelines, quotations, English dictionaries, and bilingual dictionaries. It is published by and the user interface is provided by Oxford University Press. This subscription is limited to 5 simultaneous users. No reader is required to use these electronic books. The best way to find ebooks is in the XPLORE Library Catalog.  Subjects: BiographiesClassicsDictionariesElectronic Book CollectionsEncyclopediasEnglish as a Second Language (ESL)Exercise Science,General StudiesImages (databases with images)Materials Selection & ReviewsMilitary SciencesModern LanguagesPeace Studies,Radiologic TechnologySearch @ XU.  All full-text.

Random House Webster's unabridged dictionary. New York: Random House Reference, 2001. Reference 3rd Floor McDonald  PE1625.R3 2001

English language dictionary. Provides over 300,000 entries, including new words, over 2,000 illustrations and a manual of style.