Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

International Students: Databases

A guide to information resources and community resources for International Students at Xavier University.

Useful Databases

Databases can help you find resources, such as, books, journals, articles, newspapers, media, and other types of information.

Ethnic NewsWatch

This database indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It includes more than 600,000 English and Spanish articles from 200 publications, providing a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. The user interface is provided by ProQuest1990-present; updated monthly; all full-text.

Foreign Language Video Instruction   

This resource is part of OhioLINK's Digital Resource Commons and contains a growing collection of foreign language videos in which native speakers elaborate on their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video is accompanied by a description of its contents, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. Videos are in QuickTime format. It is produced by the ViewPoints Project and the user interface is provided by OhioLINK.  Full text descriptions and tables of contents are present. Subjects: Modern LanguagesOpen-AccessPrimary SourcesStreaming Video CollectionsVideos.

Latino American Experience

This database is a cross-searchable collection of Latino American history and culture. It covers the arts, business, civil rights, customs, education, folklore, history, icons, immigration, labor, law, literature, medicine, music, politics, religion, science, sports, and women. This collection includes over 150 titles from Greenwood, Praeger, Arte Publico, and Columbia University Press. Special features include Spanish language content, a timeline, an origins section, lesson plans, hundreds of primary documents, over 1,500 images, and En mi Opinion, a blog of essays and podcasts focusing on the latest issues facing US Latinos. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by Greenwood Publishing Group. Pre-Columbian to the present; all full-text.  Subjects: AudioBiographiesDiversityE Pluribus Unum (EPU)Images (databases with images)Latin American StudiesMulticultural StudiesSpanish.

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies

This database is a bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. It contains more than 539,000 records and more than 15,000 records of recently published works and gray literature are added each year. It covers topics such as arts, humanities, economics, cultural heritage, business, industry, ethnic diversity, anthropology, international relations, political affairs, law, recent history (1900-present), archaeology, religion, and social welfare. It includes Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, theses & dissertations, MEDAS Citations Database, and the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present). It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.  1900-present; some full-text; in English, Arabic, French, Hebrew, German and Turkish.  Subjects: E Pluribus Unum (EPU)Multicultural Studies,Search @ XU

Newspaper Source

This database provides indexing and abstracts for 4 national newspapers; selected full-text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns; and cover-to-cover full text for Christian Science Monitor and Los Angeles Times. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing. 1984-present; updated daily; some full-text; tutorials