Civil Disobedience: Databases

This database indexes and abstracts about 2,000 periodicals published worldwide in history, related humanities and the social sciences. It covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes citations to journal articles, book reviews and relevant dissertations. Users can search cited references and browse Clio Notes, chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.

CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. An excellent source for charts and graphs that can be used in a speech.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. It indexes 1,700 scholarly journals and incorporates all content from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index. It covers literature, language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.

This database contains the full-text from over 330 journals and indexing and abstracts from nearly 700 journals. It includes scholarly journals as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Topics covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion.

This database covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international commerce, and conflict. It includes scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents. Topics include banking, public finance, criminal justice, economic policy, taxation, education, emigration, immigration, energy, government, humanitarian issues, industry, labor, law, legislation, natural disasters, poverty, politics, elections, social policy, and transportation

The library no longer subscribes to this resource.

Xavier University's Google-like Search interface that searches more than 100 library databases on a variety of topics.

1972 and earlier-present; much full-text

This database covers the core disciplines in women’s studies and scholarship in feminist research, including curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science, economy, public policy, international relations, the arts, humanities, business and education. It indexes over 2,000 journals as well as newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. It incorporates the following databases: Women Studies Abstracts, Women’s Studies Bibliography Database, Women’s Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women’s Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.

HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more. Ohio State Package and also the Fastcase Trial Collections END 11/30/20

This database is a cross-searchable collection of African-American history and culture. It covers the arts, biography, business, civil rights, education, folklore, history, literature, music, politics, pop culture, science, slavery, sports, and technology.

1984-present; updated daily; some full-text; tutorials

Newspaper SourceThis database provides indexing and abstracts for 4 national newspapers; selected full-text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns; and cover-to-cover full text for Christian Science Monitor and Los Angeles Times.

New York Times Online offers the same content as the Print edition.
Open to all Xavier Faculty, Staff, and Students

1851-within four years of the present; all full-text; updated annually
This database contains full-page and article images of every page of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF. It includes ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps and other graphics

Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Legal research provides federal and state cases, Shepard's citations (how to Shepardize), federal and state codes, tax law, Canadian court cases and legislation, law reviews, and patents.

The library no longer subscribes to this resource.

Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.