Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

HIST 463-01 Seminar: Cold War Foreign Policy : Databases

Library resources for HIST 463-01: Cold War Foreign Policy

New Databases as part of Ebsco Discovery Layer

Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) (All full-text; Tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) is a multidisciplinary and multilingual database. It provides hundreds of full-text publications covering business, economics, history, information sciences, law, library, linguistics, literature, medical sciences, political science, and sociology relating to this geographic region. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
 
International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) (Much full-text; Tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) provides a comprehensive resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. It provides background information from organizations, agencies, and publishers. It includes articles, books, FAQs, and news feeds, as well as summaries of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social, and technical spectrum. There are more than 10, 500 pertinent images and reports from Strattor Analysis, Strattor Forecasts, and the Strattor Geopolitical diary. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
 
Jewish Studies Source (Much full-text; Tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) includes content from academic journals, magazines, books, and newspapers providing in-depth coverage of all facets of Judaism. Some of the topics covered are archaeology, anthropology, ethnic studies, history, languages, philosophy, political science, religion, and women There are also biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews. There are extensive back files for journals such as KASHRUS (1990), Contemporary Jewry (1974), Western States Jewish History (1968), and YIVO Annual of Jewish Social Science (1946). The entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database is available form 1922-present. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
 
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (1900-present; some full-text; tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) is a bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. It contains more than 539,000 records and more than 15,000 records of recently published works and gray literature are added each year. It covers topics such as arts, humanities, economics, cultural heritage, business, industry, ethnic diversity, anthropology, international relations, political affairs, law, recent history (1900-present), archaeology, religion, and social welfare. It includes Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, theses & dissertations, MEDAS Citations Database, and the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present). It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
 
Peace Research Abstracts (1964-present; much full-text; Tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) contains more than 267,000 bibliographic records covering topics such as conflict resolution, international affairs, and peace psychology. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
 
Political Science Complete (Much full-text; Tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) provides extensive coverage on global political topics for students, researchers, and government institutions. It contains the full-text for more than 550 journals, along with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,900 journals. It also includes the full-text for more than 340 reference and other books, as well as the full-text for 38,000 conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. It covers topics such as comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law, legislation, political theory, and non-government organizations. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.
 
Public Affairs Index (Much full-text; Tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international commerce, and conflict. It includes scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents. Topics include banking, public finance, criminal justice, economic policy, taxation, education, emigration, immigration, energy, government, humanitarian issues, industry, labor, law, legislation, natural disasters, poverty, politics, elections, social policy, and transportation. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.

Existing Databases

America: History and Life (1964-present; updated quarterly; some full-text; tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks; title list) indexes and abstracts about 2,000 periodicals published worldwide in history, related humanities and the social sciences. It covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes citations to journal articles, book reviews and relevant dissertations. Users can search cited references and browse Clio Notes, chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history. It is produced by ABC-CLIO and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.

HeinOnline (all full-text in PDF; RefWorks help; XLinks) includes 1,550 law journals (including Foreign Relations of the United States),

Historical Abstracts (1955-present; updated 3 times per year; some full-text; tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) indexes and abstracts over 2,000 international historical journals. It also includes selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. It covers history from 1450 to the present, but excludes US and Canadian history. Users can search cited references and browse Clio Notes, chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in world history. It is produced by ABC-CLIO and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.

Historical Statistics of the United States (most from 1800s-1990s; full-text essays & introductions; downloadable data) provides quantitative data on population, work & welfare, economic structure & performance, economic sectors, and governance & international relations. It covers social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. It permits users to search and download data as well as create customized tables, spreadsheets and graphs. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by Cambridge University Press.
International Political Science Abstracts (most 1951-present; some full-text; tutorials; RefWorks help; XLinks) indexes and abstracts the 900 of the world's leading journals in political science. It is produced by the International Political Science Association and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing.

JSTOR (1st issue of 1st volume to 3 years from present; all full-text; Video tutorial; Handout tutorial; RefWorks help; XLinks; title list) provides online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines including the arts, business, demographic studies, humanities, social sciences, and science. The multidisciplinary arts & sciences collection was updated in June 2009 with an additional 120 titles, bringing the total number of journals in this collection to 749. JSTOR also includes 8,200 19th Century British pamphlets. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization that serves and is supported by the scholarly community. NOTE: journal content published prior to 1923 in the US and prior to 1870 elsewhere is freely available to the public for reading and downloading (nearly 500.000 articles from more than 200 journals).

New York Times Historical Database (1851-within four years of the present; all full-text; updated annually; RefWorks help; XLinks) contains full-page and article images of every page of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF. It includes ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps and other graphics. It is produced by the New York Times and the user interface is provided by ProQuest.
Political Science Complete (Much full-text; TutorialsRefWorks helpXLinks) provides extensive coverage on global political topics for students, researchers, and government institutions. It contains the full-text for more than 550 journals, along with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,900 journals. It also includes the full-text for more than 340 reference and other books, as well as the full-text for 38,000 conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. It covers topics such as comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law, legislation, political theory, and non-government organizations. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by EBSCO Publishing. 
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985; all full-text; XLinks) permits users to search using keywords or hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos. It is produced by The Times and the user interface is provided by Thomson/Gale's InfoTrac.