Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Specific Databases w/ Good Journal, Magazine, or Government Sources
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features content going back as far as 1887.
Business Source Complete
An EBSCO database, this is covers a wide assortment of business related journals. Much of the database is full-text.
Preparation for a speech may include the use of various statistical facts, charts, and graphs. The following databases and web sites are good sources for such information.
Pew Research Center
A source for statistical information drawn from surveys of public opinion on various topics.
U.S. Census Bureau
The primary gateway to federal statistics on social, economic, and educational information. Use the helpful index ("Subjects A to Z").
Statisical Abstract of the United States
Provides data tables for population, vital statistics, labor force, employment, energy, technology, and many other fields. Statistics are drawn from various federal entities.
ProQuest Statistical Datasets
Formerly known as LexisNexis Statistical Publications & DataSets, this database includes statistical information from both U.S. and international organizations, including the U.S. government. Users will need to run the Java installation to use this tool. Some sample topics include: 30-year fixed mortgage rates, campaign contributions to political candidates, and the unemployment rate.