European History: Databases

This database indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. It covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Users can search by date, subject and location.

covers 400-1700; updated daily
This database is a bibliography of approximately 230,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 400 medieval and renaissance journal titles of great use to scholars interested in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. More than 60,000 new records are added annually. Iter is compiled by Arizona State University, University of Toronto, Renaissance Society of America, Sixteenth Century Society and Conference, Institute for Research in Classical Philosophy and Science, International Society of Anglo-Saxonists, Medieval Academy of America, and International Society for the Study of Greek and Roman Music and its Cultural Heritage (MOISA). The user interface is provided by the University of Toronto Libraries.

JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also houses a growing collection of Open Access e-books and e-journals.

Historical Abstracts (1955-present; updated 3 times per year) indexes and abstracts over 2,000 international historical journals. It also includes selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. It covers history from 1450 to the present, but excludes US and Canadian history. Users can search cited references and browse Clio Notes, chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in world history

This database provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. It indexes 1,700 scholarly journals and incorporates all content from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index. It covers literature, language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.

Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) provides full text (including PDF) coverage for scholarly journals published in central and eastern European countries. This multidisciplinary, multilingual database offers full text content to many academic.

This database includes content from academic journals, magazines, books, and newspapers providing in-depth coverage of all facets of Judaism. Some of the topics covered are archaeology, anthropology, ethnic studies, history, languages, philosophy, political science, religion, and women There are also biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews. There are extensive back files for journals such as KASHRUS (1990), Contemporary Jewry (1974), Western States Jewish History (1968), and YIVO Annual of Jewish Social Science (1946). The entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database is available form 1922-present

EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains more than 130,000 titles and more than 17 million scanned pages as listed in 4 collections - Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies.

This database includes:
Over 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes)
Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
Primarily in English - also includes other languages, provided by Gale publishing

This collection explores colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism. This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences.
Material in Empire Online has been sourced from a wide range of reputable institutions, with a particularly strong core of documents and images from the British Library.

1493-1750; no full-text
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Full text access to issues published from 1785-2014. Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.

Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century

Provides full text searchable scans of the complete run of the Daily Mirror and Sunday Mirror from 1903-2000.