Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources listed on this page can help you document your experiences as an activist if that is a path you would like to pursue. The guide is meant to equip you with information, tools and resources to make informed decisions about capturing, collecting, and preserving materials related to activism and protest. University Archives and Special Collections staff are on hand to help you work through any questions or concerns you might have. We are here to listen and learn together.
University Archives and Special Collections fully supports the statements of the following organizations:
Archiving Activism Resources
Documenting the Now
Documenting the Now has incredible tools, resources, and advice for activist groups and archivists looking to document their work. Their website hosts recorded symposium sessions on topics such as "Digital Blackness in the Archive: Collecting for the Culture" and the ethics of web archiving. This website is a must-visit.
A Library of Free Resources for Video Activists, Trainers and Their Allies. WITNESS provides video tutorials on a variety of topics (concealing identity, informed consent, transferring electronic files).
National Forum on Ethics and Archiving the Web
Conference session recordings exploring how "Web archives can serve as witness to crimes, corruption, and abuse; they are powerful advocacy tools; they support community memory around moments of political change, cultural expression, or tragedy. At the same time, they can cause harm and facilitate surveillance and oppression."
Resources for Archiving the Aftermath
Resources for those contemplating a project to collect and curate collections to be housed in grief or trauma archives.
Projects and Primary Sources
Project STAND provides a centralized access point to historical and archival documentation on the development and on-going occurrences of student dissent.
Contact University Archives and Special Collections