Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Map

Black History Month Resources: Databases

This guide contains resources that explore the contributions and lives of Black and African American persons.

Databases

This database is a cross-searchable collection of African-American history and culture. It covers the arts, biography, business, civil rights, education, folklore, history, literature, music, politics, pop culture, science, slavery, sports, and technology.
 
Includes the full text of almost 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
 
The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
 
This database is the online version of American National Biography published in 1999 in 24 volumes. It offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped American history.
 
This database is an encyclopedia that covers the arts, business, democracy, discrimination, diversity, education, expansion, family, government, imperialism, labor, law, leisure, peace, religion,and war. It provides 2,000 primary documents in American history, including speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, editorials and cultural criticism. Multimedia files include over 500 pictures, hundreds of video clips, and audio files of famous speeches. It is produced by and the user interface is provided by Encyclopaedia Britannica.
 
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.

Citizens Police Data Project

CPDP takes records of police interactions with the public – records that would otherwise be buried in internal databases – and opens them up to make the data useful to the public, creating a permanent record for every CPD police officer.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. An excellent source for charts and graphs that can be used in a speech.

This is a part of OhioLINK's Digital Resource Commons and contains digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation. The collection includes abolitionist broadsheets, photographs by Matthew Brady, letters and speeches of President Lincoln and other presidents, and other historic letters, documents, and pictures. The original documents are found in the Gilder Lehrman Collection of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. The digital images were made available through the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center. The user interface is provided by OhioLINK.
 
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
 
This database contains more than 49,500 records pertaining to the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Topics include ethnic relations, discrimination, radicalism, economics, cultural identity, pressure groups, immigration, ideology, and community relations.
 
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
 
Access to part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
 

This historical database is available to the Xavier community as a temporary trial during the COVID-19 crisis.

Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
 
This database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts. It indexes over 750 core journals, 575 priority journals, 2,800 selective journals, books, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. It covers all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence. It features over 10,000 author profiles with biographical and bibliographic information. 
 
The most comprehensive archive of social memory yet created, Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online allows students, scholars, and online researchers to experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.